Bugs in the shower


muffet 17067 smWhat do you do when in the midst of having a shower you notice a harmless bug clinging to the wall and whose life is now dependent on the continuation of your shower? You can carry on and just let the natural events continue, you can scream or you can stop and save it’s life. I am a bit of a sucker for saving bugs so I tend to get myself into a bit of a mess trying to do this as I don’t particularly like touching them.

I am not sure when the transformation from bug-killer to bug-saver happened to me but I can’t help myself. I think of their lives and dependents and families – Mr Bug wondering why Mrs Bug is home so late. There are limits and the bugs that cause me harm like mosquito’s eventually get it in the neck but I have a Buddhist aversion to just killing them for killings sake.

Ellen DeGeneres echoes my sentiments nicely here.

“Our egos tells us we’re the only ones that have any kind of feelings. We’re the only ones with a relationship. We’re the only ones with family. You know, I think that if you kill a spider, there is a relationship that you’re ruining. There’s a conversation going on outside with the other spiders. ‘Did you hear about Chris?….Killed yeah….Sneaker. And now Stephanie has nine hundred babies to raise all alone. Well, she’s got her legs full I’ll tell you that right now. Chris was so kind, wouldn’t hurt a fly. It’s just been tough for them lately. They just lost their web last week. Those humans think they’re so smart. Let them try shooting silk out of their butt and see what they can make.’”

This mornings heroic efforts managed to have the opposite effect that the one intended. Having finished my shower I discovered the tiniest spider walking past my feet in the shower base. I thought I would rescue it before the next person came in and squashed it. As I bent down to coax it gently on my finger I inadvertently hit the shower dial with my back and washed it down the plug-hole.

Tags: , ,

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to ma.gnoliaadd to simpyseed the vineTailRank

Leave a comment

Filed under Strange Findings/ Ramblings

Leave a Reply

