10 Bookish Questions


Inspired by Kimbooktu – List of 10 book questions to tickle your fancy.

cheshirecat

Tags:

1. Hardcover or paperback, and why? I love soft cover books. I love to get new ones and then flick the pages and smell the new book with that light breeze flowing on my face. Hardbacks are not so inviting if new but if they are old and crumpled I love them and like to imagine all the people that have owned them and read them.

2. If I were to own a book shop, I would call it… Worms in Wonderland

3. My favorite quote from a book (mention the title)… What a question, so hard to choose. I have scratched my head over this selection rushing from F. Scott Fitzgerald to Margaret Atwood and settling with Lewis Caroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. One of my favorite characters is that naughty cheshire cat but to be honest the reason I selected it was because even if I opened the book at random with my eyes shut and pointed I would probably have another favorite quote from the book.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where –” said Alice.

“Then it doesn’t much matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

“— so long as I get somewhere,” Alice added as an explanation.

“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if only you walk long enough.”

4. The author (alive or deceased) I would love to have lunch with would be… William Shakespeare without a doubt although I am sure I would have trouble understanding him before the first glass of wine and if I could have one more along to that it would be Theodor Seuss Geisel, the combination of the two would be confusing and entertaining for sure.

5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except for the SAS survival guide, it would be… the complete works of Shakespeare which I assume could count as one ‘book’. Having been forced to study him at school and kind of liking him I seemed to have returned to him in the last few years. I am now seduced by the beauty of the language, tickled by all the comedy of errors, heartbroken and shocked at the tragedies and continually amazed at how much of Shakespeare is in our common vocabulary.

6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that… suspended the book at any angle required whilst reading in bed, turned the pages for me whilst I kept my hands warm under the covers, sensed when I wasn’t really reading but just falling asleep (whilst thinking I was reading )and then deposited the book with corner marked beside my bed at the last page that I really did read. Is that too much to ask for? Looks like developments are underway – check out this book page turning device video.

7. The smell of an old book reminds me of… secret hiding holes in dusty old lofts in ancient houses.

8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title)… It would have to be Alice in Wonderland as she gets to have some scary mind-bending fun in a crazy adventure meeting all of those wonderful characters in a magical other world. All you have to do is just go with the flow.

9. The most overestimated book of all times is… this is a tough one – it’s all a bit horses for courses in terms of what appeals and what doesn’t. I don’t tend to read popular literature so kind of miss out on all those books like Da Vinci Code or Men are from Mars that always look a little suspect to me. Books can be popular because they are of our time, relevant in some way (and heavily discounted) but at a push I think Jack Kerouac’s On the Road is one that I personally struggled with for me it was felt too much like a drug fuelled stream of consciousness of an intense young man.

10. I hate it when a book… has those unevenly cut pages.

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to ma.gnoliaadd to simpyseed the vineTailRank

Leave a comment

Filed under Strange Findings/ Ramblings

Leave a Reply

